ANZSLA Members

Denis Callinan Award

ANZSLA created an award in memory of Denis Callinan who was a well respected lawyer and ANZSLA member. 

The Denis Callinan Award recognises members who render commendable community service in the field of sports law.  The recipient of the award is presented with a trophy in recognition of their outstanding community service, and the right to nominate an appropriate recipient of a grant of AU$2000 or NZ$2000 (dependent on the country of the recipient and subject to the approval of the ANZSLA Board).


The deadline for 2018 submissions is Friday, 7 September 2018.  For full details and terms and conditions download the document from this page.


This award is generously sponsored by the Queensland Traffic Offenders Program of which Denis was a founder.


Denis Callinan Award Winners

Andy Gibson
Inaugural Award 2012
$2000 grant recipient: Surf Life Saving Australia  


Paul J Hayes
Awarded in 2013
$2,000 grant recipient: The Australian Paralympic Committee  


Tony Nolan QC
Awarded in 2014
$2,000 grant recipient: Play by the Rules


Maria Clarke
Awarded in 2015
$2,000 grant recipient: RSIS Refugees in Sport Initiative (Refugees as Survivors in New Zealand)


Paul David QC
Awarded in 2016 
Sir John Walker Find Your Field of Dreams Foundation (Community Learn to Swim Program)

Maroubra United FC (Juniors)


Click to download the links below:

Latest ANZSLA News

  • 16 December 2017
    The 100th edition of The ANZSLA Commentator has been published and is available free to members from The Commentator page of the website.
  • 4 July 2017
    Vol 10 No 1 of the ANZSLA Journal has been published.  Hard copies have been posted to members and a PDF is available from the 'Publications: ANZSLA Journal' page of the website.  Non members may purchase a hard/PDF copy from the ANZSLA Store.
  • 22 May 2017
    ANZSLA is delighted to announce the formation of an alliance with the US Sports Lawyers Association (SLA), the Japanese Sports Law Association (JSLA) and the Portuguese Association of Sports Law (APDD).  Further details can be found on the 'International...
© Copyright ANZSLA 2018